Slow healing

Image

 

   As the shopkeeper was busy counting notes to return to me the driver started the engines, and as I ran back in a hurry the bus was already starting to move. In my desperation for fear of being left behind I clung to the door with one arm and one leg on the board. But it sped faster and I fell, colliding with the giant tires. The next moment I opened my eyes I was in terrible pain and I couldn’t feel my right arm. All this happened in less than ten minutes. In comparison to that, it took me ten whole days in the hospital, more months incapacitated at home and more than two years now to still recover from the aftermath of that accident. And here I am, still yet recovering physically and mentally with scars across my right arm. Who’d have guessed a few minutes encounter would haunt me through the years?

   In the hospital, wounds of varying degrees are brought every day. The cleanest and least severe of which would be bandaged up and asked for a follow up check that would take at least a week, and still yet more time to heal completely. Less obvious is that big difference in time taken to injure and the time taken to heal. Such is the nature of healing.

   The human heart is no different. It takes only a small amount of time, a small misdeed, few wrong vocabularies, accidental misdeeds of the drunken state to cause so much hurt that left a gaping wound in our wake. The problem with injuries is that even though they may heal, it takes a whole lot of time and incredible efforts to nurse that wound to heal. And it is only devastating to know that no heart that breaks could ever be the same again. The pieces of a broken pot may be put together, but it will never regain its normal shape. Rather, far from it.

   However, in my effort for optimism I for one would like to think that we get hurt, broken down and crushed to become better. An ugly pot can after all be broken down and reshaped into a more beautiful one. It is the aftermath of the collision that counts most. Let the hurt come, let us be broken, crushed and demolished; for this is life, and life is but not without its pains. But I give more importance to the ‘what happens after the hurt?’ What do we make out of a fight? Give me two very different people; I’d say a fight is unavoidable at one time or the other! But what happens after a fight, or fights? A fight is but just another way of overcoming the differences, especially in a relationship. Better it is to speak out and have a good fight than to sport a cold heart. Overcome the differences, be it acceptance or submission, let it all be in a good heart, better still if out of love.

   Whatever the aftermath maybe, I still think it be good to think twice before hurting another than to have to struggle with a wound that heals all but too slowly. What was never meant to be injured, when is so, becomes vulnerable many times over before it can heal properly. I’d admit that I have given my fair share of hurt to others, and received a handsome amount too. And that leaves me to say: do not hurt anyone if you are not up to healing it; and even if you are so, it’d be wise still not to hurt at all. You can never imagine the hardship you cause to the recipient you hurt, you are only too full of yourself.

Leave a Reply

